Adventuring Sydneyside: A little color in the city

Lately we have had a stretch of absolutely beautiful weather here in Sydney. Before that, however, we had quite a bit of rain which I was determined not to complain about (After all, I could be in Boston in the midst of the dreaded March snowfall).

Anyway, there are only so many days one can spend inside avoiding soggy weather, so on one waterlogged Saturday a friend and I grabbed our umbrellas and headed down to Redfern and Alexandria for a bit of shopping. I hadn’t explored these areas much, but was happy to find some great shops and a bit more color than the buildings in my neck of the woods. What can I say, I’m a sucker for this kind of stuff – I think it may stem from the whole ghost sign obsession.

I thought I’d share with you a few of the colorful buildings that helped to brighten up our rainy day. And seriously, if you have not been to Mitchell Road Antique Centre in Alexandria yet, you need to go. It’s one huge store/wayback machine that has everything you forgot your family used to own. It’s a perfect place to go hunting for old nick-nacks, vintage clothing, retro furniture, etc. and great way to spend an afternoon, rain or shine.

Leave a Reply

