Snapshot/Weekly Photo Challenge: Changing Seasons

It’s time for another weekly photo challenge! This challenge is all about changing seasons, which is funny because I was just getting ready to write a similar post. Well, sort of. My post was going to be called “Where the Wild Things Are (My House)” and it was going to be all about the creatures that have been trying to move into the house now that the weather is warming up.

The seasons are certainly not as pronounced here in Sydney as they were back home in St. Louis. In fact, they kind of melt into one another: never super hot, never super cold. So, I’ve discovered that instead of snow or colorful leaves, my barometer for a new season is which creatures have started turning up (and have most likely scared the daylights out of me). So, to mark our transition from spring to summer, here are some of my newest Aussie friends:

St. Anthony's Cross Spider

St. Anthony’s Cross Spider

Okay, let’s start with the most terrifying (if you don’t like spiders, that is). These guys are apparently pretty harmless, but I have a trio of them living in the front yard. They mostly keep to themselves and make interesting designs on their web. Last night I came home and one of the guys was not on his web. I don’t know where he went, but I did not sleep very well at all…

Christmas Beetle

Christmas Beetle

Not the best photo ever, but sitting on Alex’s hand is a Christmas Beetle. So named because they come around at Christmastime. They are pretty harmless and seem to spend most of their time banging into things or flailing around on their backs trying to get upright. They are almost cute, so I usually try to save them when I see them struggling around.

Garden Skink

This next guy, the Garden Skink, is adorable! These little guys are so fast that I am never able to actually get a picture of them though. They mostly live near my mailbox, giving me a fright and then running away quickly once I realize that they mean me no harm.  One even managed to invite himself into the house the other night, but quickly left once he realized that Luna wanted to play with him. These guys are a-ok in my book!

Tawny Frogmouth

Tawny Frogmouth Owl

So, we have this huge clothes line in the back yard. It’s primary use is to jump out and hit me in the head as I’m walking by. But one lovely spring night I walked outside to see this guy using it as a lounge. We just kind of stared at each other for a moment before I ran inside to find something that would allow me to get photographic evidence that this majestic owl was actually in my backyard.

So, there you have it. Changing seasons means new and exciting (and kinda scary) creatures visiting Casa Marlana. I’m not sold on the spiders, but that owl and the adorable skinks are totally welcome to hang around more often.

2 thoughts on “Snapshot/Weekly Photo Challenge: Changing Seasons

Leave a Reply

