Adventuring Stateside: On Game 7 and Beer

Well friends, last week my beloved Cardinals ended their season with a whimper in San Francisco. I love a good game 7, but I hated to see the season come down to that game. Hope springs eternal for next year though, so I’ll say congrats the Giants on a great NLCS, and good luck against the Tigers in the World Series (though they might not need any luck). Make the NL proud, guys.

Congrats are in order for the Cards as well. Making it to the postseason is no easy feat, so I thought I’d dedicate another post to them. Well, sort of – since I have already taken you on a tour of the Cards ballpark, Busch Stadium, I thought I’d take you to its namesake this time: the Anheuser-Busch Brewery in St. Louis. For those of you not in the know…

The St. Louis Cardinals major league baseball club was owned by Anheuser-Busch from February 20, 1953, until the club was sold to a group of private investors on March 21, 1996. Busch Memorial Stadium, paid for and built by the brewery and opened in 1966, was demolished in late 2005 and replaced by a new ballpark in 2006. Anheuser-Busch signed an agreement to retain the “Busch Stadium” name on the new building through 2025. source

In all my years living in St. Louis, I’d never actually been to the brewery, though I’d heard rumors of a free tour that ends with free beer. A look inside one of St. Louis’ most famous landmarks was more than enough to sell me on the idea (though the free beer was certainly a perk), so on one of my recent trips back home I headed down to check it out for myself along with St. Louis’ biggest fan, my Mom. Crack open a cold one and have a look around:

For many more pictures of what lies inside the Anheuser-Busch brewery (hint: beer!), please visit my Flickr!

Leave a Reply

