Adventuring Abroad: Temple of the Golden Pavilion in Kyoto, Japan

As you may have gathered from a variety of past posts, I’m a sucker for gardens. Being an apartment dweller, my personal gardening options are pretty slim, which is why I usually seek out the parks and gardens in whatever city I am in to take a stroll and dream about the fabulous garden that I will someday be the proud owner of.

Knowing all of this, it’s a bit inexplicable that it barely occurred to me that in Japan I might run across some of the most amazing gardens on Earth. Yeah, I’m still not sure what I was thinking, but lucky me – I still managed some long garden strolls, camera in hand.

The first garden I’d like to take you to is the Temple of the Golden Pavilion, or Kinkaku-ji. Though there was lots to do and see in Tokyo, we decided to take a quick day trip to Kyoto to see this World Heritage site – the history of which dates all the way back to 1397(!).

Kinkaku-ji is a Zen Buddhist temple that lies in the midst of a sprawling garden complex with the famous Golden Pavilion as a most recognizable centerpiece. Here’s a quick tour of the gardens, and for even more, please visit me over at Flickr!

Entrance to Kinkaku-ji

Temple of the Golden Pavilion

Phoenix on the roof

A lovely path winds through the gardens

Toss a coin for good luck

Rooftops

Fudodo shrine

For more pictures of Kinkaku-ji, please visit me over at Flickr!

2 thoughts on “Adventuring Abroad: Temple of the Golden Pavilion in Kyoto, Japan

    • Thanks for reading! I don’t know how but we did miss it. Thanks for pointing it out – I think this means I’ll need to go back to explore the temple in much greater detail. 😉

      For those of you who haven’t heard of it, here is the tree in question: http://bit.ly/PFU2AD. Just amazing!

Leave a Reply

