Adventuring Abroad: Château de Chillon, Switzerland

Well friends, we’ve spent so much time in Sydney lately, I thought we’d take a little side trip and visit a very different locale. But first, a bit of set up…

The summer before my senior year of high school, I took a two week trip to Europe with several other students in the foreign language program. We saw Madrid and Barcelona and made our way to Paris, stopping at several places in France and Switzerland along the way. It was so long ago that the details had become hazy, but I remembered that, at some point, we saw a castle on a lake and it was beautiful.

Winging into Switzerland, the Alps peeking above the clouds

Fast forward many years to Alex and I heading to Switzerland to visit some of his family in Saint-Légier-La Chiésaz in Vevey. Since it was, according to my memory, my ‘first time’ in the area, Alex’s Aunt wanted to take us on a sightseeing trip. This included the Château de Chillon, a beautiful castle on a lake – you probably see where this is going…

Foggy Lake Léman

Now, I’ve never been accused of having what you would call a good memory, but I was pretty sure I hadn’t been to the castle before. I would have remembered something like that, right? Still though, I have to admit, it did seem a little familiar…

Château de Chillon

Shrugging off that little bit of deja-vu, I pressed on, and Alex and I enjoyed a quick tour of the castle which dates back to 1005.

One of the circular towers

The castle was originally built by the Savoys, and though it changed hands throughout its history, it holds a distinction of having never been taken in a siege. With the castle spanning so many periods, the original structure has been expanded and restored many times, making it a large compound. Though we weren’t able to see everything, what we saw was amazing.

A window to the Court of Honor

Coat of Arms

Alex explores one of the Great Halls

I pose in a window

The underground

As soon as I got home I took a look at the old itinerary from that high school trip and sure enough the Château de Chillon was one of the places we visited. Needless to say, I’m very happy I was able to go back to a place I never thought I would see again. And, thanks to this blog, hopefully the memory of the place will stick around a bit longer this time!

Leave a Reply

