Snapshot: Chinese New Year Twilight Parade

Last weekend the long-awaited Twilight Parade rolled down George Street and in to Chinatown. As far as I’m concerned dragons + lights + parade = good times, so I’ve been looking forward to it to say the least. Clearly I wasn’t the only one as crowds started lining up hours before the parade was set to start.

Those of us who arrived early got a sneak peek as performers began to arrive

Ah, yes dragon, you're right on time!

Street performers, like these amazing dancers, kept the crowds entertained before the parade began

Now even though crowds + humidity ≠ good times, I was still determined to enjoy the parade and bring back some shots to share with you. So, without further adieu, enjoy some of the sights of Sydney’s Chinese New Year Twilight Parade!

Once the parade began it didn't take long before lights and lions arrived!

I just love these guys

Dancing with fans

Glowing dragon

Dancing on parade floats isn't easy, but these ladies did a great job

A dragon made of light

The Chinese Zodiac sign of the monkey

2 thoughts on “Snapshot: Chinese New Year Twilight Parade

  1. It looks wonderful! I went to see the Dragon Parade in Boston’s Chinatown this past weekend. Not only was it a fun time, but I loved seeing the “dragons” up-close. I’ve been fascinated by them and their carp-gaping mouths and furry eyelashes since I was little and saw them on Seasame Street. So a dream fulfilled!

    • Thanks Brenna! I saw your pictures of the Dragon Parade on Facebook – they looked great! I have to make it a point to go to Boston’s Dragon Parade at some point (I still can’t believe I’ve never gone to it). I remember those guys from Sesame Street too (maybe that’s where my fascination with them comes from – mystery solved!).

Leave a Reply

