The ExPat Diary: Happy Thanksgiving!

Yesterday was Thanksgiving. Well it was the date of Thanksgiving anyway, but Sydney was pretty quiet on the subject actually. It was business as usual here, all because the Australians don’t really celebrate Thanksgiving.

Somebody should tell them that they are missing a fantastic parade opportunity!

I have to say, I really missed it. Right now, most of my family and friends in the USA are sitting down to Thanksgiving dinner. Facebook is blowing up with Thanksgiving wishes and pictures of turkey, mashed potatoes and tales of pumpkin pie. It’s all making me very hungry actually, and even a little homesick!

Not to mention the football! That's nearly as important as the pumpkin pie!

I’ve got a lot to be thankful for this year and, in the spirit of the day, I just wanted to extend a big ‘thank you’ for reading this blog. It’s never easy to move so far away from everyone you know, but sharing my photos, stories, and adventures has helped me feel more connected and has motivated me to get out and see as much as I can of my new home. I really hope that you have been enjoying it too.

Speaking of my new home, the focus here has completely turned towards Christmas. More to come on that in the coming weeks...

Not to let such a delicious holiday slip by unnoticed, Alex and I are planning Thanksgiving (observed) this Saturday. I’ll be fumbling my way through all of the Thanksgiving essentials: turkey, mashed potatoes, stuffing, pumpkin pie. I’ll let you know how it all turns out!

What do you think folks, can I pull this off??

In the meantime I hope that each of you has a very happy, blessed, and delicious Thanksgiving with all of the folks that you hold dear.

Leave a Reply

