The ExPat Diary: Australia Bound

It’s a story as old as time: boy meets girl, boy falls in love with girl, boy gets a promotion to move as far away as humanly possible and asks girl to come along for the ride. Girl says ‘absolutely’. Well, I’m the girl, Alex is the boy, Australia is about as far as one can get from Boston and still be on this planet. The kicker? All of this is happening. Soon.

So, here we go. The lease is up, nothing is packed, and a moving truck will be here at the end of the month. Moving overseas makes you think of your belongings in a different way. Most everything will go into storage, which means that I’ll bring two large suitcases of only the essentials with me to Sydney. Two suitcases = pressure. All of my stuff is great. All of it. How do I choose what comes with? Alex says it’s easy: only bring clothes. Ummmm…sure.

A few 'essentials' put aside for suitcase #1

Everyone has been very supportive in awesome and surprising ways, from moving help to job hunting help to new home for my cats help (thanks Mom). And then there are the awesome surprises from awesome friends (thanks Allison!!!!!):

Travel Sountrack: Australia

Track listing!

So this is where it starts. In the coming weeks I’ll pack up all of my belongings, leave my job, say goodbye to my family and friends scattered around the U.S., take my two cats to their new home and set off on an adventure the likes of which I have never seen before. I’m very excited, kinda nervous, a bit stressed and even a little bit sad to say goodbye to everyone (and my great awesome stuff). Mostly though, I’m just excited for what comes next.

Don't worry little guy, I'll phone home!

Leave a Reply

